Review: Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr (Wicked Lovely, #1)

Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely, #1)Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Honestly, this book has been on my shelf for years. My mother gifted Wicked Lovely to me on my birthday, and back then i did try and read it but, for some reason i never really got past the first five chapters. This wasn’t the case this time. I simply couldn’t put it down.

Melissa Marr has written a wonderfully inventive story. Her ability to keep a complicated story with several important characters clear to the reader is phenomenal. The relationship she creates between Aislinn and Seth is heartwarming, leading the reader to fall in love right along with them.

Some readers won’t take to Keenan. I didn’t either but after a while you realise that he’s doing it for his court and the natural order of things. He didn’t ask for an evil mother and he certainly didn’t ask for the curse that was put on him. In my opinion, Melissa, further in the book, tries to show Keenan under a more positive light by portraying him to be compassionate and truly apologetic about how all the past girls had to suffer because they weren’t the Summer Queen.

I liked that, in the end, love for Keenan or his love for the girl has nothing to do with who becomes Summer Queen. The bargain that Aislinn strikes is clever and benefits not only herself but others. I was very concerned that Seth (sigh) would lose to Keenan, who at the time was slowly becoming a pain with all his possessiveness and stubborn attitude. All in all, the book was a great read and i will definitely be buying Ink Exchange, the second book.

View all my reviews

In My Opinion