Guest Post: Susane Colasanti – The Hunger Games Edition!

Have you guys started reading? You don’t want to fall behind because there is a mere month left now. So, we promised that the Read-a-Thon would be fun and to finally kick off, we have Susane Colasanti. Many of you know her because she’s that awesome writer whose books lay on your shelves. This is what she has to say:

Download susanecrop350.jpg (115.6 KB)

How excited am I for The Hunger Games movie? Psyched out of my head, yo. March 23 is burning a hole in my day planner. Day planner en fuego. The effects in the Arena are going to be crazy hot. Cannot. Freaking. Wait.

Let’s talk boys.

Liam Hemsworth is more my type than Josh Hutcherson. Except I was picturing Gale darker and with brown eyes. It looks like maybe Liam was wearing brown contacts in the movie pics I saw. I hope so. That’s important. From the movie pics, it doesn’t look like Peeta’s hair is blond enough. I’ve always seen the boys as dark and light like yin and yang. Katniss looks amazing, though. Jennifer Lawrence was incredible in Winter’s Bone. No doubt she will bring it full force.

When I tell you this you’re going to be like, WHAT. But I didn’t start reading the trilogy right away. It look some persuading. People were telling me how awesome The Hunger Games was. I was all, “Yeah, no, I’m not really into dystopia, thanks anyway.” And they were like, “No, this is really good. You have to read it.” And I was like, “I’m all about realistic fiction. So I think I’ll pass.” But they were not hearing that. They were like, “You don’t understand. You need to read this book.” So I finally went and got the book and it sat on my night table for a while.

But then I started reading it.

Next thing I know, it’s four in the morning, I can’t put the book down, eyes burning out of my face, knowing I was going to pay for it the next day and not even caring. Holy crap is that book good. Aside from Speak and Wintergirls, The Hunger Games is probably the only book I’ve read that I thought was perfection. I wouldn’t have changed one word. Unreal.

A spoiler alert might be needed here. I don’t know. Just throwing that out there to the three of you who haven’t read the series yet.

The whole series is phenomenal. But Catching Fire was a little less perfect. And Mockingjay was even less perfect. Particularly the ending. Where certain people ended up with certain other people when certain people were clearly meant to be with certain other people who are their SOUL MATE. I mean, hello, am I the only one who thinks a tragic mistake was made?

So yeah. Team Gale. Why? Because when you live in District 12 and are illegally scavenging in the woods, risking your life to stay alive and trying to feed your family, and there’s a boy by your side the whole time who is bonded to you in a way that no one else in the whole entire world could ever understand, a boy who

loves you and you love him and you’re just starting to realize the depth of your love, and when he kisses you you just know…then it is obvious you’re meant to be together. Some people forgot about that kiss. Or act like it was whatever. A kiss is never whatever. That kiss was something real.

And what kind of name is Peeta, anyway? Like, what, he works in a bakery and bakes bread so pita bread and then just change the spelling?

Let me stop. Your turn.


And because she is more than just awesome, she offered to giveaway an ARC ofKeep Holding On her new (unreleased) novel, Keep Holding On! What do you need to do to get your hands on it? Comment below with why you love The Hunger Games and spread the word about this Read-a-Thon. Simple! This giveaway goes on till the end of the Read-a-Thon, March 23rd 2012.

P.S. There might or might not be extra points for comments on all the other The Hunger Games posts that follow this. 😛

You can find Susane here: 

Website: http://www.susanecolasanti.com
Blog: http://susanecolasanti.wordpress.com

Facebook: 
http://www.facebook.com/susanecolasanti

18 thoughts on “Guest Post: Susane Colasanti – The Hunger Games Edition!

  1. Pingback: THGReadAThon DQ Part 1 “The Tributes”: My Answers + Highlight Post | Smitten over Books

  2. Pingback: THGReadAThon Discussion Questions: Part 1 “The Tributes” | Smitten over Books

  3. Pingback: THGReadAThon Discussion Questions: Part II “The Games” | Smitten over Books

  4. Pingback: Random Ramblings (12): Man, I’m Still Alive! | Smitten over Books

  5. I love the Hunger Games because really what’s not to love about THE HUNGER GAMES. But the other two books in the series…

    I will just quote Susane. Because she describes EXACTLY the way *I* feel:

    “The whole series is phenomenal. But Catching Fire was a little less perfect. And Mockingjay was even less perfect. Particularly the ending. Where certain people ended up with certain other people when certain people were clearly meant to be with certain other people who are their SOUL MATE. I mean, hello, am I the only one who thinks a tragic mistake was made?”

    EXACTLY I tell you. That’s why I love Susane so much, she can tell when people are soul mates and never gets it wrong 😉

  6. The Hunger Games Trilogy, and Susane Colasanti’s books are my abosolute favorite YA fiction books of all time! I can’t even explain how much I love them, they are literally my life. So, about the Hunger Games: Even from the beginning, I was like, TEAM GALE. I think Liam Hemsworth is going to be the best Gale. While I was reading the HG’s, I pictured Gale’s face similar to Liam’s. So, although Catching Fire was a superb book, it just could not compare to The Hunger Games for me. Like you said, Susane, it was less perfect. There were so many great moments in The Hunger Games, like when Katniss meets her beauty team for the first time. That was the best scene in the book, I hope it is well portrayed in the movie!!!!

  7. I’ve read the Hunger Games Series Multiple Times. I love everything about it and there isn’t anything that i would change. It truly shows me that in life just when you think that everything will finally be okay, it throws some new catastrophic thing your way. But in the end it will all work out. And what doesn’t kill you, really does make you stronger.

  8. Pingback: 9 on the 9th | Susane Colasanti – Blog

  9. I love hunger games because besides the love story aspect of it, it shows survival, bravery, and how society judges one another, and we all struggle day to day just to survive. Btw, Team Peeta!

  10. I love The Hunger Games because it’s the kind of story that inspires people to read. My brother struggles with reading but with the help of his english tutor, he made it through the whole series! It was cool to have him recommend a series to me for once, rather than the other way around. p.s. I love the keep holding on cover! the purple converse are so cute.

  11. I love the Hunger Games. Katniss is such an amazing character, and so is Peeta and Gale. I haven’t read them in a while, but you are really able to feel everything that the go through in the series. It’s like an adventure that never ends and it’s one that keeps you on the edge edge edge of your seat, and then when it’s done, you’re in total in complete shock you just fall off! It’s amazing, suspenseful and a great read for any day. Thanks for the giveaway as well! 😀

  12. I have to say when my friend tried to tell me about this book, my initial thought was “how gruesome! How can you like a book about that?” And then I read it–and I immediately understood it. But to try to tell someone who has not read it why I love it–it is so hard. Suzanne Collins’ writing is amazing. She really drew me into the story. She created characters that I cared about and loved. And she kept the energy and action high and interesting right up until the last second.

    Shanan
    thebookaddictnet.blogspot.com

  13. I love The Hunger Games because it started another chapter of our young lives. We already have surpass the magical story of Harry Potter and even got to watch it in big screen in ten straight years; we got to read the forbidden love story of Bella and Edward and watched it too. I know some of you might not be Twi-hards or even Potterheads–but I doubt that fact. The Hunger Games was like another step to maturity that we got to experienced with the book and now in the big screen. I can’t really put into words how The Hunger Games transformed me. I mean I got to read another fantastic world that I will never forget until I die.

  14. I used to love the show Survivor. Then the show got old and boring. When i received the first Hunger games book as a birthday present a few years ago, I was excited to read a story with a game show. Wow, this story had the best, scariest, funnest and most exciting games ever. I love how strong Katniss is and learning what the world of the games was like. Besides the world of harry potter, I would love to try to survive in the world of the hunger games. I really love Peeta, he’s great. He represents that bad fighters can still survive terrifying situations uses their verbal wits and fantastic baking skills, though for him it is mostly art (painting). I like how this book is all about survival. Collins is also a great writer and the area in the games was described beautifully. What i like the most about the Hunger games series is listening to drunk Haymitch talk. (the best mentor ever)

  15. I think I might just love you Susanne! 😀 I’m definitely Team Gale all the way. I was right with him from The Hunger Games until his disappointing turn out on Mockingjay. And I totally agree with you about The Hunger Games being the best out of the trilogy. It was definitely my favorite out of all the 3.

    Thank you, Susanne for being a part of this read-a-thon and for contributing a very awesome guest post! 😀

  16. Whoa after that Gale comment I might finally choose sides, I never bothered picking one.
    I don’t know a lot of people who read so I didn’t hear about the Hunger Games until a few months before Mockingjay came out. I was given the audiobook and still wasn’t in a rush to listen to it, but one day while doing some filing I put it on and maybe got 30 minutes in before I finished what I was doing and completely forgot about it. It was until maybe 6 months later (last May) that I decided to go back to it, after that I was looking for any excuse to listen to it.

  17. How do I even BEGIN to describe how much I love The Hunger Games?!?! It’s just amazing. From the very beginning until the very end I was completely engrossed in and fascinated by this world that Suzanne created. It’s a terrible world but you can’t help but be drawn to these characters who live in it and who fight for their lives on a daily basis. As soon as I finished the first book, I drove to my local walmart to buy the second and to my horror, they didn’t have it! So I drove to the nearest town with a bookstore, praying they had it. Luckily, they did. I just had to have it in my hands and continue on with the story. These books make you think about the world you’re living in and they give you the desire to get involved, to make sure that this doesn’t become reality. I agree that the ending to Mockingjay wasn’t my favorite, but (SPOILER ALERT!) I was THRILLED when she ended up with the guy I’d been rooting for all along. 😉 I just felt like the ending was far too rushed, and that she left a lot of questions unanswered and too many loose ends untied. But aside from that, this series is fantastic and by far one of my book series ever!!

In My Opinion