Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

 

If I Stay

Title: If I Stay

Author: Gayle Forman
Publisher:   Random House Books for Young Readers
Genre(s): young-adult; romance; contemporary fiction
Source: ebook

My Rating

Synopsis (goodreads):

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel. I open my eyes wide now. I sit up as much as I can. And I listen. Stay, he says.

Everybody has to make choices. Some might break you. For seventeen-year-old Mia, surrounded by a wonderful family, friends and a gorgeous boyfriend decisions might seem tough, but they’re all about a future full of music and love, a future that’s brimming with hope. 

But life can change in an instant. 

A cold February morning …a snowy road …and suddenly all of Mia’s choices are gone. Except one. As alone as she’ll ever be, Mia must make the most difficult choice of all. 

Gripping, heartrending and ultimately life-affirming, If I Stay will make you appreciate all that you have, all that you’ve lost – and all that might be.

 

My Review:

This is the first of its kind that i have read. Although, the synopsis doesn’t do it justice, in the sense that i didn’t quite know what i was getting into when i first started reading it…till, well it happened.

If I Stay, as the title suggests is about Mia, stuck in a kind of limbo while her body is a comatose state and the question is – should she stay or should she go?
It’s something i’ve thought about too. How does one know that their loved one is waiting in between either trying to find their way back or just not. Euthanasia isn’t an easy choice, but this book isn’t about that.

Gayle Forman cleverly weaves a story around Mia who reflects on her past while watches the actions of those around her in the hospital as they pray and hope that she wakes up. Having been in an accident that rendered her an orphan and without her brother, she really has nothing left for her to live for. And there does come a point in the story where she wants it to be over. But then everyone around shows her that she has a family. Bigger than the one she lost and they’re all rooting for her.

It was such a beautiful sad story. About the loss of family, love and grief. And the ultimate question whether to stay or to go.

2 thoughts on “Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Pingback: If I Stay by Gayle Forman | what books do to me

In My Opinion

