Review: Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti

Keep Holding OnTitle: Keep Holding On

Author: Susane Colasanti
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Genre(s): young-adult; romance; contemporary fiction
Source: ARC

My Rating

Synopsis (goodreads):

A romantic and empowering book about bullying

Noelle’s life is all about survival. Even her best friend doesn’t know how much she gets bullied, or the ways her mom neglects her. Noelle’s kept so much about her life a secret for so long that when her longtime crush Julian Porter starts paying attention to her, she’s terrified. Surely it’s safer to stay hidden than to risk the pain of a broken heart. But when the antagonism of her classmates takes a dramatic turn, Noelle realizes it’s time to stand up for herself–and for the love that keeps her holding on.

 

My Review:

I think its safe to say that i’ve had quite the lucky streak when it comes to reading good books. So far, a book has yet to disappoint me.

I’d obviously read rave reviews about Colasanti’s Keep Holding On and not being a stranger to her books i knew this was a sure good one. I don’t know how to explain it, but its this feeling that you get and you instantly know that you will love this book.

This is the first time i’ve read a book about bullying and i feel that everyone out there should get their hands on this book. Why? Personally, it gave me an insight into the world of the one being bullied and what they go through daily. Thankfully, i haven’t been bullied in the way Noelle was but i did scraped. But i guess i had the strength to speak out against it. Many people do have the strength to fight it, they just don’t know that they do.

I cried. I literally cried while reading this book. It was everything i felt, even today. It was almost like Susane looked into my heart and wrote down everything that she saw. I cried for those who go through this everyday. I cried for those who feel alone and scared. I cried for those who felt that dying was the best option. I won’t deny i haven’t thought about it myself, but this book has this feel-good thing about it. It gives you strength and gives you hope. The power to change is in your hands.

The book was short, and i wished for it to continue on. I read it within hours because i literally could not put it down. It helped me the see the light, that while bullying does not happen here to the extent it happens in the US, things are pretty bad. And i want to help change it.

2 thoughts on “Review: Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti

  1. Pingback: Review: Heaven by Christoph Marzi | Breathing Books

  2. Pingback: front of store | Susane Colasanti – Blog

In My Opinion

