Whirl Blog Tour

Download WhirlBANN...jpg (1066.1 KB)

The following is an excerpt from Whirl. On the night of her seventeenth birthday, Kendra encounters something strange on her way home.

Download whirl-cov...jpg (1890.3 KB)

My head jerked at the sudden sound of footsteps. Three men approached me from the left. They were the college guys I’d spotted outside of the club earlier.

I’d been so consumed in my thoughts, they’d actually caught me off-guard. Unfiltering my Virtue, I reached out to gauge their intentions.

Nothing.

I frowned. My magic only worked on humans, but even with elementals like my mother, I’d always sensed a solid barrier.

This was different. I didn’t feel anything. There was nothing inside them but…empty space. A void where something should have been, but wasn’t.

They stood a few feet away in triangle formation, blocking my left and front. Tight, confined area with little mobility, and only one exit point behind me.

I sighed inwardly. I really wasn’t in the mood to deal with drunk boys on my birthday.

“Well, well. Look who we got here.” The tall, thin one in front spoke in a raspy voice that reminded me of crunching gravel.

“Sorry, boys. My night’s over,” I replied coolly.

The two burly guys in back came forward, barring my path. They slowly advanced, herding me into an alley on my right.

One of them, a beefy blonde, had an eager look on his face. He rolled his head, cracking his thick neck in anticipation. The streetlamp reflected off a small discoloration, a pale white brand just above his carotid artery.

An Origin scar.

Shaped in the form of a small letter x, it marked the hole through which a living being exchanged mortal blood for the black demonic essence of an Aquidae.

I jerked back in surprise. Icy fear shot through me and I reached for the dagger at my back. I’d made the stupid assumption they were human.

 

Download OQlogo-co...jpg (193.6 KB)

Emma Raveling is a fantasy author who leads a slightly eccentric life traveling throughout the world with her accommodating husband and charming, neurotic dog.

Hopelessly addicted to coffee and diet coke, she has a strange love of spreadsheets and organizational tools because they give her the illusion that she is somehow in control of the chaos that is her life. A dedicated practitioner of vipassana meditation, Emma loves to cook and often spends time scouring the Internet for new recipes. She adores beautiful art such as painting and sculpture, classical music, lyrical writing, and great graphic design.

Whirl is her debut book. She is currently busy at work writing Billow, the second installment of the Ondine Quartet series.

Download WhirlGIVE...jpg (1338.1 KB)

One thought on “Whirl Blog Tour

In My Opinion

