Follow Friday #12 and Book Blogger Hop #9



Q. Talk about the book that most changed or influenced your life (was it a book that turned you from an average to avid reader, did it help you deal with a particularly difficult situation, does it bring you comfort every time you read it?).

As a child my mother never let me go near Sweet Valley High and encouraged me to read Enid Blyton. I guess i can proudly say that it was Enid’s books that i was devouring super fast and through them i realised my love for books and reading. At a young age i was carrying Enid’s books everywhere with me. I remember this one time i went to the bank with my mother and she told me to take a seat and wait while she did whatever she had to. While i was waiting, i took out Enid’s book and tried to look sophisticated by reading with people around me. 🙂

Book Blogger Hop

“What is the one ARC you would love to get your hands on right now?”

I would love to get my hands on As I Wake by Elizabeth Scott and Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith.

As I WakeAva is welcomed home from the hospital by a doting mother, lively friends, and a crush finally beginning to show interest. There’s only one problem: Ava can’t remember any of them – and can’t shake the eerie feeling that she’s not who they say she is.

Ava struggles to break through her amnesiac haze as she goes through the motions of high-school life, but the memories that surface take place in a very different world, where Ava and familiar-faced friends are under constant scrutiny and no one can be trusted. Ava doesn’t know what to make of these visions, or of the boy who is at the center of them all, until he reappears in her life and offers answers . . . but only in exchange for her trust.

 

Kiss Crush CollideLeah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some. 

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green.

3 thoughts on “Follow Friday #12 and Book Blogger Hop #9

  1. So, pray tell, do I have another Bobsey Twins aficionado? Lol.

    Hi,

    Dee hopping in on the Book Blogger Hop, I was hit with nostalgia when I read the words “Enid Blyton” OMG what a writer, but funnily enough, she wasn’t the writer who influenced me most, maybe cowardice at trying to measure up or the fact that I moved to the USA from the island of Trinidad and Tobago at 13 which was (*& years ago) and read Enid no more. I then encountered Judy Blume and she influenced me mightily with “Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret.”

    Great blog you’ve got here!

    Dee of the BookZone

  2. I never read Enid Blyton but I wasn’t a Sweet Valley girl either. I read a lot of different books, but my favorite were Laura Ingells Wilder and The Box Car Children.

In My Opinion

