Cover Story by Jennifer L. Armentrout

View midsummer...jpg in slide show

Today, i have Jennifer L. Armentrout to talk about her covers.

Thanks for having me today, Sana! I’ve gotten a lot of questions about the cover of Half-Blood, as well as the covers for Daimon and Pure. And I’m thrilled to give a little insight into the cover of Half-Blood.

 

Spencer Hill (the publisher) and I went back and forth a couple of times, trying to find something that really stuck out. So many of the YA covers are gorgeous, but also very similar. So we wanted to make sure Half-Blood and the following novels were different. Kate Kaynak, an editor at Spencer Hill, actually created the cover of Half-Blood and all the Covenant novels. I’d like to take credit it for it, but all I did was say yay or nay. 

 

When I got to see the first mock up of the cover, I think I may have squealed. To me, the cover captures the mystery of Alex’s world and I don’t think readers know what to expect from just looking at that cover. And I kind of like that!  Kate did a wonderful job.

 

Now for some details on the cover and how it plays into Half-Blood. The purple flower on the cover is a hibiscus flower. Hibiscus is Alex’s (Alexandria Andros) mom’s favorite flower, and for those who’ve read Daimon, you know why that flower would be important to Alex. The flower is also on fire and that is significant to a scene in Half-Blood toward the end of the book.  A little known fact about hibiscus flowers is that most of them have no scent.

 

The book cover itself is very shiny and smooth, which complements the design. The first time I held a proof copy of it, I think I pet it a couple of times. Maybe I shouldn’t have admitted that.  A big difference from the ARC copies and the First edition copies of Half-Blood is that the First edition copies will include Leigh Fallon’s (author of Carrier of the Mark) blurb.

 

Also, each cover of the series does play an intricate role in the story, which is something I love!

 

Daimon: A Prequel to Half-Blood (Covenant)

Review to come very soon...

Half-Blood (Covenant, #1)

Can't wait to get my hands on this...

Pure (Covenant, #2)

Sequel to Half-Blood

If these covers don’t make you scream ‘awesomely beautiful’ then i don’t know what will!

Giveaway!

Swag BABY!

Picture      Picture

Picture    Picture

Just fill out the form below:

One thought on “Cover Story by Jennifer L. Armentrout

In My Opinion

