Review: She Smells the Dead (Spirit Guide, #1) by E.J. Stevens

She Smells the Dead (Spirit Guide, #1)She Smells the Dead by E.J. Stevens
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*I received this book from the author for an honest review.

I am so glad that E.J. Stevens asked me to do a review. Really, i am! I mean i had wanted to read this book for the longest of time and now that i have, i can happily say that it didn’t disappoint. I’ve always been attracted to mediator-related novels and also those involving necromancy, so this novel was a win-win situation, with a hot werewolf included!

Yuki was smelling some strong vinegar throughout the novel (you’ll have to read the novel to find out why) and i know now how awful that can be. Seriously, i was eating some strong vinegar dish and i felt like puking. AWFUL!

Yuki can smell the dead, as opposed to characters from different novels who see the dead. This was new for me and i liked it a lot. She also wears a lot of black. Ironic, much! (am i allowed to call her a goth?)Not to mention the fact that she has a thing for guys who fall under the bad boy-goth persona (me too!) but she falls for her best guy friend who smells like wet dog (i don’t need to clarify why he smells like that). I think its either because i’ve read far too many werewolf novels to recognise the symptoms or i’m just far too observant because i knew exactly what Calvin was by first 30 pages.

I am so glad that i read this novel because it seriously does not disappoint (already mentioned this above) and i had a blast reading it. I can’t wait to jump right into the second novel, thats how excited i am.

The thing i liked about Yuki was that she had this loyalty towards her friends. Even though she had a major crush on Garrett, she still understands the feelings of her best friend and asks him instead to the homecoming dance. I don’t know if that was loyalty or her own feelings, maybe its safe to say that it was both. Another thing would be that she keeps her calm about things. She often practices these breathing exercises to calm herself, i know i wouldn’t if i were in her position and would seriously hit somebody.

This book also had enough humour to make it an interesting novel. The saying that had me cracking up each time would have to be, “Son of a dung beatle.” Read the book to find out why.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: She Smells the Dead (Spirit Guide, #1) by E.J. Stevens

  1. OH MY WORD! I want this book SOOOOO BAD 😦 I’ve been dying to get my hands on it! that cover is SOOO SWOON worthy! it’s my desktop background♥ AWESOME REVIEW! thanks for sharing!

In My Opinion

