Author of the Month for June – Markelle Grabo

“Author of the Month” focuses on one author for the whole month. I have either guest posts or interviews by said author and a giveaway as well which lasts for the whole month.

Markelle Grabo, though only 17 at the moment aspired to be a writer since the 5th grade. Who knew that she would achieve her dream so early in life?

Thank you, Markelle for being a part of my blog for the whole month this June. Its been a blast getting to know you!

First of all, tell us a little about yourself. I mean you’re new in the literary world and we’d all love to know you!

I’ve always been an avid lover of both mystery and fantasy, and after years of losing myself in books, I was inspired to create my own tales. I dabbled in short stories here and there in middle school, but I was never serious about writing until my freshmen year of high school, when I sat down to write my first novel on Easter morning. With countless cups of coffee and the perfect music to motivate me, I wrote the first draft of The Elf Girl in two months. Once I started, I couldn’t stop. Writing became my passion, how I was defined by others. I wrote the second and third in the series over summer, the fourth was finished the following spring, and I recently ended the fifth this past Easter. I am currently working on the sixth, and hope to have it finished by fall.

What kind of research did you have to do to bring this story to life on the page?

For Journey into the Realm: The Elf Girl, I didn’t have to do a lot of research, because most of it I made up. It is fantasy, after all. The main character’s hometown also resides in Wisconsin, where I currently live, so that didn’t take research either. However, I did do a lot of research on names and their meanings. I frequently visited Babynames.com to look up meanings and origins. I also researched some fairy folklore, just so I could decide what spelling I would use in reference to winged creatures (as in: fae, fey, fairies, faeries, etc). The last bit of research I did was on Atlantis, because I refer to the legend in a section of the novel.

Describe The Elf Girl in 3 words.

Mysterious. Adventurous. Suspenseful.

Tell us a little about your book, you know why we should read it and what we can look forward to. Actually, just pour your heart out to us!

ourney into the Realm: The Elf Girl is about a fifteen-year-old girl’s journey to self-discovery. Ramsey Wilder is taunted constantly for her unique looks, which include pale skin, white-blonde hair, striking emerald green eyes, and pointy ears. She is finally given change she desires when she meets a beautiful pair of strangers who look just like her, and Ramsey learns that she is far more different than she once realized. She is an elf. Whisked away to a magical Realm with unique beings like her, Ramsey finds herself placed with the duty of finding her long lost sister. Kidnapped by fairies in the middle of a dangerous war between fae and the elf kind, her sister is the key to a secret surrounding Ramsey’s past that could potentially affect the outcome of the war. Without her, Ramsey will never know why her parents sent her to live with the humans in the first place, or why threats far deadlier than the war itself seem to be waiting in the wings. With mystery, adventure, and even a little bit of romance, Ramsey sets out to save her sister, unveil her past, and discover herself.

Let’s talk about your main character,Ramsey. How did you think her up and is there any of you in her?

When I first started writing The Elf Girl, I wanted Ramsey to be as understanding and compassionate as she was strong and straightforward. But it took me until the book was finished for me to realize how similar we were. My friends and family actually noticed before I did. When we discuss the characters, they will say, for example, “and then you do this” instead of “and then Ramsey does this.” I never intended to make us the same, and there are a few differences, but I’m pleased with the result.

If your main character, Ramsey, could give one piece of advice to teenage girls/boys, what would it be?

Never shy away from who you are. It’s normal to want to change things about yourself sometimes, but those feelings should never outweigh the importance of embracing whatever makes you unique. And if you’re happy with who you are, no one else matters.

 Finally, i want you to answer this question truthfully. What is it like to finally become a published author? Is life the same? And what do you think the future has in store for you?

Being an author is all I ever wanted, but it’s still very new to me, and very surreal. Because I am also a full-time high school student, I have to focus the majority of my time for my studies. Every now and then I will be walking down the hall and I’ll think to myself, “That’s right. I’m an author.” And a big smile will spread across my face because I still can’t believe this is all happening. Life has changed, though. Before my book was published I wasn’t making appearances, signing books, or giving interviews. It’s all so exciting and I love every minute of it. As for my future, I plan to be writing books for the rest of my life. I will never run out of ideas. This is my life now and it will be my life forever.

View Cover.JPG in slide show

Journey into the Realm: The Elf Girl

With her pale skin, emerald eyes, and pointy ears, Ramsey’s life has never been normal. When she learns that she is an elf, things take a turn for the strange and perilous. Ramsey must rescue the sister she never knew in order to unlock the secrets of her past, secrets that could determine the outcome of a dangerous war between fairies and elves. And in order to discover herself, Ramsey must accept her magical destiny.
Markelle Grabo

At an early age she took to reading, spending countless hours devouring book after book. In fifth grade, she decided that she wanted to be like the authors she favored. She wanted to tell her own stories. An avid lover of fantasy, she typed out idea after idea, however, nothing was substantial enough to call a novel. On Easter morning of her freshman year in high school, she looked back on an old idea for a story about a girl who didn’t know she was an elf and had to travel to a magical world in order to learn her destiny. She took those few pages of writing and reworked them, continuing thereafter until it became her first full-length manuscript. A year later, when she was satisfied with her work, she sent it to an editor. After rereading and editing it so many times she lost count, Journey into the Realm: The Elf Girl (the first in a six-book series) was ready for publication. 

When Markelle isn’t writing or reading, she enjoys singing, musical theatre, acting, running, tennis, watching epic movies, drinking coffee, dancing for no apparent reason, shopping for more books, laughing at pretty much anything, spending time with friends and family, taking care of her pets, organizing stuff, listening to music that inspires her writing, talking to God, and most of all, thinking about ideas for her writing. 

She lives in her hometown of New Berlin, Wisconsin with her amazing parents, Maryanne and Scott, her two cats (Sylvester and Pogo), and her four rabbits (Josie, Moose, Bailey, and Coraline). Her friends mean the world to her, and along with all of the adventures and support they’ve shared, they have also adorned her with a string of nicknames, the favorite being Marcel (It’s a long story…). 

And yes, she definitely believes in fairies. 

Giveaway:
Markelle has offered a signed paper-back copy of her book The Elf Girl. The rules for this giveaway are below.
 Rules:
  1. By commenting on this post you earn yourself an entry, but in order for this entry to count you have to subscribe to my blog and let me know in the comment.
  2. +1 for every time you spread the word, just let me know in your comment
  3. You must be 13 years or older.
10 thoughts on “Author of the Month for June – Markelle Grabo

  1. I’m not sure if the giveaway is still open. But anyway, I don’t mind commenting on this post. I enjoyed the author interview. It’s nice to know more about Markelle. Thanks Sana for the great interview. I just added The Elf Girl on my to-read list. She described it as “Mysterious. Adventurous. Suspenseful.” then it must be really good. I love suspense/thriller books and i’d be glad to read hers.

    I subscribe to your blog via e-mail.

    Tweeted
    http://twitter.com/Peppermint1013/status/84000277899907072

  2. Thanks for such wonderful comments! I love to see young adults like me so interested in reading and writing. If you ever need help with your writing, like tips or ways to get past that writer’s block, feel free to drop me an email. Or contact me through Facebook or Twitter. Links can be found at my website: http://www.markellegrabo.com

  3. I so badly want to win this book! Ever since I was little I wanted to be an author, the one thing I can’t seem to do is finish a book! I have great beginnings and middles but no ends! I told 27 of my friends (my grade) so I hope they will tell others! Congratulations on getting published! You sound like my true role model!

  4. Markelle, you are honestly inspiring and I’m so happy for you. I’ve been trying to write a book for about 2 and a half years now and in the process I’ve started writing two other stories, but I’ve only got looooaadds of fragments of each story. I’m so excited to read your book! Can’t wait to read it!

  5. Enjoyed the interview. Congrats on knowing what you want to do so young and accomplishing such a feat. I wish you the best of luck!

    feliciarogersauthor(at)yahoo(dot)com

    (Would love to become a site member..how do I do that?)

In My Opinion

